Calitrani on Facebook

Sometime in early 2008, I believe, I started a group on Facebook called “Viva Calitri” for people who have roots in, or are fans of, Calitri. To my surprise, people started joining the group within days of its creation.

picture-3Little did I know that a year later, the number of members would explode and reach 1,000. They come from every corner of the world – United States, Canada, Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany, France, England, Iceland, Slovakia, Sweden, Venezuela, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Australia and even Japan!

Remarkable. Yesterday, one calitrano predicted, “1,000 today, 5,000 next year!”

I have personal ties with many of the members in the group and the story behind my ties with two of them is particularly interesting. One is Justin Cerreta, who I went to middle school with. His aunt grew up with my ex-step-mother and his cousins went to school with my sister. Another is Jennifer Zarrilli, who I worked with at a grocery store when I was 16. Back then, we weren’t aware that we were closely related, much less had roots in Calitri! I swear us Calitrani somehow gravitate towards each other.

Siamo ovvunque!

Here is the link to the Calitri group on Facebook if have Facebook and you’d like to join. But chances are you’re already a member!

6 Comments

Filed under Calitri

6 responses to “Calitrani on Facebook

  1. Hi Jason
    What a cool and important blog entry! When I was in Calitri during my holidays (end of December) – after 20 years or something! – I had to think of you a few times. I made some pictures (which are still on my stick, I download soon, promised :)) of Calitri how it is today and the apartment where we stayed, which belongs to my cousin, was on the same floor like some family Gervasi. Then, I met some friends of another cousin and one of them was named Gervasi, too. I hope that you will find soon the time to go there. And if you do so, please go during summer, it was freekin’ cold in December…

  2. Gervase

    Hi Paola! How nice to hear from you! Was the apartment you stayed at located at Via Costantino Frucci? I can’t wait to see your pictures. 🙂

    I’ve always gone to Calitri during the winter (December, January and March). I’m thinking of going in May this time around.

  3. Hi Jason
    I hope I can add the pictures soon to my facebook account. There are already some very few which I took at the “presepe vivente”.

    The apartment where I stayed was at Via Pittoli in the newer part of Calitri.
    I had the possibility to visit the castle which yet has to re-open to the public after a longlasting renovation. It was breathtakingly beautiful and I hope that they will be ready when you go there the next time.
    I hope to be able to go again around Easter or then in May/June. I’ll grab some free days around the Ascension, hopefully.

  4. Gervase

    I had no idea that the castle was being renovated!!! Honestly, I thought all that’s left of it is the tower. That would be amazing to see.

    It seems that I will be going to Calitri in May for sure. Would be great to meet you if you will be there around the same time. 🙂

  5. That’s what everybody thought, that there was only the tower left. But some time after the earthquake, they discovered a lot more under the ruins. We made a tour with the mayor and the architect in head of the renovation and he explained how everything was built then and re-built now; it consists of many small rooms and cellars and it was simply amazing to discover everything. I really hope that it will be ready for May, they said that it should take something like 2 more months and then it should be open to the public. They want to make concerts and exhibitions therein.
    It would be fantastic to meet you there, for sure. I definitely will go again this year because one of my aunts isn’t doing very well and I don’t know how many times I can visit her again.
    I’ll let you know when I placed more pictures on facebook, ok.
    I have a very funny calendar in calitrano, where all the text is calitrano, you know, the months and days and everything else. I’ll send it to you if you give me your address, it’s a nice thing to have!

  6. Gervase

    You’re so fortunate to be able to get a sneak peek of the castle! I hope it’ll open before May but knowing how Italians are, it probably won’t open until next year. Haha. 🙂

    I think I know the calendars you’re referring to. I had one some years ago. I would love to have the calendar for 2009. Thanks for the offer! 🙂 I’ll send you my physical address via Facebook.

Leave a Reply

