Internship

I knew about this for a while but I did not want to say anything just yet, in fears that I’d jinx it. But as of today, it is set in stone. I’m going to do what I’ve dreamed to do for a long time — complete my internship abroad.

Not just abroad, but in the very town that my family came from: CALITRI!

I will be working for a tourism agency as well as help out at a wine bar. I will probably leave for Italy right after my final exams on May 12th and then return by August 7th, just in time to be home for the birth of my nephew or niece who is due on the 9th. The woman who I will be working for owns several flats in town and is willing to accommodate me in a small, cozy one for only €200 a month (around $260).

Now, I just need to purchase a flight ticket (I’ll have to figure out how to pay for it!) as well as decide what I should do with my place. My lease is up on March 31st. Should I renew it or keep it and pay rent even if I won’t be there for 12 weeks? And I am going to need to find someone to take care of Siena while I’m gone (god, I’m going to miss her so much). Decisions, decisions.

I never thought in 100 years that this would happen. I have to pinch myself to make sure all this isn’t just a dream.

17 Comments

Filed under Calitri, Europe

17 responses to “Internship

  1. This is amazing! Congratulations!

    Where do you need to fly in to?

    I would decide how much you like your place and then determine from that if you will keep it. Moving is a pain, and if you like where you are, I’d keep it.

    Keep us posted! This is fantastic!

  2. Gervase

    Thanks, Steve. This is an exciting opportunity!

    I need to fly in Rome and that would cost an arm and leg to fly there… around $1,300. But I’m considering flying to London (which costs only $817) then use Ryanair to get me there to Rome for approximately $120.

    I’m not sure if I can afford to keep my place and pay for utilities while paying for my accommodation in Calitri. I’ll have to really think this over.

  3. wow!! i’m really happy for you and definitely cannot wait to read your WP about your experience there.

    i think you already know but we, phoenicans, will miss you dearly!

    i think you should end your lease and put everything in storage (it’s much cheaper) except siena! :p

  4. Pam

    Ooh, that is soooo exciting! I’m already looking forward to your photos!!!

  5. Laura

    That is so cool!!! Congrats 🙂

    –norsican

  6. Bernedette

    Congrats Jason!! I am so glad that this worked out for you!!! I hope I can come and meet you in Calitri!!

    Keep me posted 🙂

  7. Meg

    If i had all the money in the world, I would come and visit you! haha that’s going to be quite an experience! blog daily 🙂

  8. Gervase

    @steph anne: yeah, i think putting all of my possessions in a storage room would be the wisest thing to do… i’ll be sad to lose the condo i live in though.

    @pam: me too!!

    @laura & mystic_life: thanks 🙂

    @bernedette: couldn’t have done it without you. thanks a million!

    @meg: i’ll definitely try! my place in calitri has everything but internet. 😦 i know there’s an internet cafe somewhere… I’m sure I’ll become their most regular patron!

  9. Eleanor

    Fantastic opportunity “caro cugino”!

    My granddaughter was able to find an amazingly low roundtrip fare from San Francisco to Rome….total with all surcharges less than $700! She is traveling late March, early April.
    She found the American Airlines fare at http://www.yapta.com

    Eleanor

  10. Pamoo

    ;_;

    yet another reason for me to visit italia, akfmawoijfa

    i haven’t been to calitri… mmm

    congras, boy!

  11. Roberto Bongo

    Cugino:
    I wish I had the opportunity to do what you are doing when I was young. Go for it and enjoy. You must tell us about this experience. Keep a journal that you may share with us if you wish.
    Buono Fortuno,
    Roberto

  12. Gervase

    @Eleanor: Thank you for the tip! I found one for $780 roundtrip from Phoenix to London. I think I’ll go ahead with that.

    @Pamoo: Visit me!! I’d absolutely love that!

    @Roberto: I will definitely blog on here during my stint in Calitri.

  13. Jason,
    Best of luck, have fun out there… feel free to pass by my family house 66 via concezione and say hi to my cousins!

    Nick

  14. Salvatore Galgano

    Hi Jason, If you plan to be back to your apartment in 12 short weeks? you should keep it. Siena? I can understand, maybe someone you know who Siena is familiar whith will watch her? Jason, best of luck, Salvatore Galgano, (Piermont NY)

  15. Gervase

    @Nick: I’ll be sure to do that!

    @paninigirl: thank you 🙂

    @Salvatore: I’ve decided to stay longer than 12 weeks…. 5 months and half… so I will be giving up my condo. As for my dog, my mom has agreed to take care of her. 🙂 And thank you!

Leave a Reply

