Update on my summer internship.

I finally bought a ticket to Italy. I was able to find one that flies directly to Rome (with one layover in Philly) for cheap through http://www.yapta.com (thanks to Eleanor for the link!). picture-5

I leave the day after my finals on May 13th and return on October 29th. That’s right – I’ll be in Italy for five months and half! I originally planned for three months but my friends and father encouraged me to stay as long as I can. I’m young (well, sort of!), single and fresh out of college. The timing really can’t be more perfect.

I will not be renewing my lease which is up on March 31st so in April and the first two weeks of May, I will be staying at either my dad’s or mom’s. I’ll store most of my furniture in a storage room and keep my prized possessions at my mom’s house. My friend, Kim, and my mom both said they would be more than happy to take turns taking care of my dog while I’m gone. So everything seems to be working out the way I had hoped!

If anyone’s considering visiting Italy this year, please let me know! You’d be more than welcome to stay with me in my flat.

I’m overwhelmed with the warm enthusiasm expressed by fellow calitrani about this news!

I’m so glad that it worked out! You will have to take a lot of pictures when you are there!! 🙂 – Bernedette

What a great opportunity for you..wish I had done this as a young buck….keep a journal and maybe share it with us if you wish. – Roberto

Congratulations! Louise and I send our very Best Wishes. – Al

Congratulations….. Spring time in Calitri… you will love it….Nice apartment…….Auguri… and keep blogging to keep us current with your exploits….. – Vincent

BRAVO! – Elaine

congratulations that’s a wonderful experience for you. My wife Pat and I are planning to spend a few days in Calitri in September of this year will you still be there then? We would love to meet and see you. – Ray

If you need a porter, I can find a red cap that will fit me easily. Congratulations. – Shirley

How exciting! I am so happy for you. Everything will work out for you. You are amazing and have been amazing to all of us. – Barbara

Congratulations Jason!….that is wonderful for you. – Rick

Congratulations. – Madeline & Sal

Allow me to join the chorus of voices congratulating you on your internship. One more reason for me to visit Calitri… – Gabe

Congratulations on your internship, Jason. This is absolutely wonderful. I know you will have a wonderful time and take beautiful photos. (We’ve all seen your work. Great, innovative shots!) – Mario

I am so happy for you. To be in Calitri all those months. – Joy

Congratulations on your internship. What a thrill it must be to grow a hobby into a profession so to speak. And to spend the summer in Calitri getting paid (albeit not very much) to do something that has got to be the thrill of a lifetime. – Richard

Congratulations, so happy to hear good news. – Francine

…just want to add how happy I am for your upcoming internship plans in Calitri. What a wonderful experience for you both personally and professionally. How fortunate you are to have the chance to expand your knowledge first hand and with your own eyes. It’s a rare moment and one you will always cherish. Good luck… – Josie

I am so happy that you have received the internship and that you will be doing it in Calitri. It could not of happened to a more deserving individual. – Alfonso

And from my cousin in Milano:

Sono molto contento!!! Spero di venire a Calitri in questo periodo. – Michele

Wow! Their enthusiasm is inspiring and touching! This probably wouldn’t have happened if it wasn’t for them… so to them, I owe a huge grazie mille.

In other news, I’m considering the possibility of publishing a book with pictures I will take in Calitri upon my return. There’s a cookbook with calitrani recipes, a history book about Calitri, a book about immigrants from Calitri….so why not a photo book? Just a thought.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Update on my summer internship.

  1. Laura

    How exciting!!!!

  2. Pamoo

    iahjfiajfiljawf im excited for you! it’d be amazing

    and yes, do the photo book! ♥

Leave a Reply

